Welcome to the EMPA

Eastern Motorsport Press Association

Hall of Fame
Convention Photos
Benefits of EMPA
Contest Rules
How To Join EMPA



The Writing and Video Contest deadlines are almost here. Please check the EMPA website for info on the rules and get your written work to Dino Oberto by November 4th and your videos to Bill Channel by November 9th.


We wish Marilyn Saxton, who along with husband and EMPA President Ernie worked tirelessly to organize EMPA events for decades, all the best as she works to overcome health issues that hit her recently. Ernie tells us her recovery is going well as they prepare for a return to their Florida home for the winter. If you would like to send Marilyn a card, the address is 1448 Hollywood Ave, Langhorne, PA 19047.

MEMBER NEWS:        

Long-time EMPA member Linda Mansfield has written a collection of fictional short stories for Christmas entitled "Stories for the 12 Days of Christmas." In it, she offers a baker's dozen of short stories to provide readers with short breaks during the hectic holiday season. The 13th story features a race car driver. The book is available as an e-book, a paperback or a hardcover through Amazon and other outlets. For more information, see LindaMansfieldBooks.com.


The annual hard copy newsletter is currently being assembled and once the nominees for the various awards are identified at an upcoming board of directors/committee chairman meeting, it will be completed and mailed as quickly as possible. IT WILL ARRIVE AFTER THE DEADLINES FOR TWO CONTESTS, so please plan accordingly. Members not planning on attending the convention can vote in the upcoming board election on that form.


The program where current members get their renewal free if they bring three new members into the association is still in effect. Please let us know if new people are to be credited to you.


We welcome Mark McKeon, a longtime contributor to AARN, who joined the association at the Syracuse finale.

Until next time…..Ron Hedger


My primary goal for the 2016 convention is to shorten the banquet. To that end, we are making a few changes.

One is that John Snyder, who has been working with chairman Earl Krause on the Hall of Fame committee, will do all of the HoF introductions. He will briefly highlight the inductee’s career, after which the inductee will receive their statue and make their remarks.

We obviously do not know yet who the inductees will be, but if it turns out that someone you nominated is elected, please encourage them to limit their remarks. A season by season review of their career is not good form.


We would also ask members not to request an opportunity to present “special” awards outside our traditional award lineup or to make remarks after being presented contest awards. We will welcome, of course, the usual brief remarks by the winners of the Lane, Hunter, Saxton and other major awards.

We have considered presenting some of the awards at lunch or breakfast but feel that each award winner deserves the recognition inherent with accepting their award at the NASCAR Hall of Fame dinner. The exception will be for awards going to non-members. We have, for example, given out Driver of the Year awards earlier in the day when a driver had another evening commitment and will do so again this year if possible.

Everyone’s cooperation in moving the event along to a checkered flag
at a reasonable hour will be greatly appreciated.


I recently reached an agreement with Firestone Racing for sponsorship of

the hospitality area at the upcoming EMPA convention. Firestone joins our

other valued convention and contest sponsors and, as always, we urge

members to express their appreciation when you interact with Lisa Boggs

or others from Firestone as well as the sponsors of our other activities.

Until next time.....

Ron Hedger

American Honda Motor Company
Webmaster: Robin Ervin-Robinervin1@comcast.net
If you want to send a note to thank the sponsors of EMPA, click here for addresses.

If anyone has a interesting or vintage photo they want to display, email Robin Ervin and I'll display it here.

Please be sure to caption the photo with the photographers By Line along with who the person in the photo is and where the photo was taken.

Scenes from past EMPA conventions

Who will take home the awards durng the January 2016 EMPA convention?
( Ace Lane Jr Photo)


Contest Deadlines are fast approaching!!!


EMPA convention Jan 8, 9 &10 2016.

Mark your calendar!